Industrial Training

July 26, 2006 at 11:13 am | Posted in College Life, Personal, Tech | 2 Comments

What is a industrial training? It is something like internship in USA. Students are given opportunity to receive training in the real world business environment. After that, they could gain “real” experiences of their field.

Wonder why I used “real” to describe? As you know, what we’re studying in colleges / universities might not enough to equip us for the skills we need to have when we start working (in the “real” environment, of course). So, lecturers always advice students to conduct more research on their field in order to gain more knowledge. This is true.

For my case, I’ll have to receive my industrial training after the Chinese New Year (around February 2007). My first choice? Of course is Microsoft Inc. But anyway, it’s not that easy to get into Microsoft to work…I’m not sure if I’ve the “quality” to work in Microsoft though…

In case I can’t make it into Microsoft, I’ll go back to my hometown – Sandakan to work with my father and another company (IJM Corporation, a plantation and property development company). Working with two employees? Hehe…you’re right. Actually I’ll work “legally” in IJM to learn how their IT department works and at the same time, I’ll have to be their SA and programmer.

The system they’re using now is developed by a programmer from India. Their current system’s problem is: the programmer can’t get what the management wants. As a result, the system is quite messy. So, my job there is to analyze the current system and see if I could work on the proposed system. Another problem for me: I might have to work on my own without anyone’s help. God!!! I really don’t think I’ll have the skills I need to accomplish the task but I’ll try. Besides, I can’t find any reference for the plantation management system I’ll work on…

At the same time, I’m required to develop an Inventory System for my father’s supermarket. It sounds easy (as I developed a similar system before using VB6…quite outdated huh?) but I really have to do more research and learn more to sharpen my skills on both system analysis and programming.

Choosing the right database is also a problem. I’m planning to look more into MySQL or Microsoft SQL Server. However, I don’t know what is the database system IJM is using currently so I’m not quite sure what methods should I use to migrate their system to mine. Anyway, this are the things that I should worried about during my industrial training in Sandakan.

So, what I can do now is research, learn, research and learn. I’ll plan what to do during my CNY period. Hehe…

Anyone has comments on this? Or you wish to give me suggestions? Welcome!!!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Bump into your blog. Nice one… keep blogging 🙂

  2. Wow!!! Thanks for your support!! Nice to know ya.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

