.NET Framework 3.0 or WinFX?

August 22, 2006 at 2:15 pm | Posted in Tech | Leave a comment

Recently, Microsoft has renamed WinFX to .NET Framework 3.0. So, lots of feedbacks have been made to this issue. Community thinks that the new name for WinFX has been very confusing. And a group of developer are petitioning to Microsoft to take back this decision.

The first time I saw the name – .NET Framework 3.0, I really thought it was the newest version of the .NET Framework. But then, I was curious because what I knew is: Microsoft has just released the actual version of .NET Framework 2.0.

For what I know, (correct me if I made mistakes) .NET Framework 2.0 is running on Win32 while WinFX is an API for developing applications for the upcoming Windows Vista. So, these two are different things!

I’m not that professional on these .net thingy, so I can’t give more comments on this. But since I’m a student learning ASP.NET which is using .NET Framework 2.0, I would suggest that Microsoft change back the name of .NET 3.0 back to WinFX to prevent confusion.

For more information on this topic, please visit InfoQ.

You may also view the petition here.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

