PHP, MySQL and Apache

September 21, 2006 at 11:57 am | Posted in Blogging, Tech | 3 Comments

As I mentioned before, I wish to host my own blog. So now, I’m starting to learn PHP. I’m now reading this two books: Sams Teach Yourself PHP, MySQL and Apache (2004 Edition), and Beginning PHP, Apache, MySQL Web Development (2004).

I followed the “outdated” instructions inside the book to install the AMP (Apache, MySQL and PHP). But I can’t make it run correctly. Why I mentioned it was outdated? It is because the AMP version mentioned in the book was older version. It is using PHP 4.3.3, MySQL 4.0.15 and Apache 2.0.47.

So, while I was furious on failing to setup all those required components, my friend Jeff introduced me a very useful and convenient software named xampp. I really have to thank him for this. The xampp really ease my pain.

What I have to do is just download and install. That’s it. I don’t have to do all those configuration for each of the AMP because xampp will do them for me.

For those who want to try this: make sure you don’t have previously installed AMP in your system. Or else, you’ll scratching your head wondering why it won’t work. (This happened to me yesterday, how stupid I was)

My next plan would be learning PHP, installing WordPress 2, and at the same time do some research on different packages of web hosting from different web hosting services.

I’ll post up my results of research after I’m done.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hmmm there is an easier way to instal AMP on Windows. Do a search for EasyPHP and install that executable. You will have PHP running in no time! 😀

    – MENJ

  2. Thanks MENJ for your valuable information!

  3. PHP is quite easy lah.. hehe, good luck anyways!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

